Onion Bhaji

Onion bhaji 4

Français

I was first introduced to Asian food when I visited my sister who then lived in Newcastle – a long (long) time ago. I remember not liking much about it, probably because the flavours, aromas and spices were much more prominent than what my teenager’s taste buds were accustomed to. Let me tell you, I have come a long way since that first experience! Indian food is now in my top 5 cuisines and I even dare to cook it.

My onion bhaji are fragrant and crispy, and make a very nice starter or snack. I put together a quick mint yogurt dipping sauce which you will definitely need if you are heavy on the chilli!

I say Miam Miam & Yum to that! Do you?

Onion bhaji

  • Servings: 6 onion bhaji
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients for the onion bhaji

  • 1 large white onion (about 150g)
  • 2 medium eggs
  • 160g plain flour / chickpea flour or a mix
  • salt & pepper
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 tsp grated ginger
  • 1 tsp chilli powder
  • a small bunch fresh coriander, shredded
  • oil for frying

Ingredients for the sauce

  • 3 tbsp Greek yogurt
  • a small bunch fresh mint, shredded
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • salt & pepper

Method

  1. Slice the onion and separate each layer.
  2. In a medium bowl, beat the eggs with all the ingredients except the flour. Add the onion and mix to coat.
  3. Add the flour and mix to coat evenly.
  4. Divide into 6 and fry until golden brown (in batches if necessary) and leave to drain on kitchen roll.
  5. Make the sauce by mixing all the ingredients together.
  6. Arrange on a serving plate and enjoy!

Onion bhaji 3

 

Top


Onion bhaji 

Onion bhaji 5

 

J’ai découvert la cuisine indienne quand j’ai rendu visite à ma soeur qui vivait à Newcastle il y a (très) longtemps. Je me souviens ne pas avoir aimé grand chose, probablement parceque les saveurs, les arômes et les épices étaient beaucoup trop prononcées pour mes papilles d’ado. Heureusement, je les ai bien éduquées depuis, ces papilles ! La cuisine indienne fait désormais partie de mes 5 cuisines préférées et j’ose même m’aventurer et la préparer moi-même !

Ces onion bhaji sont parfumés et croustillants, et sont délicieux en entrées ou en snack. J’ai concocté une petite sauce yaourt et menthe qui sera indispensable si vous avez la main lourde sur le piment !

Moi, je dis Miam Miam & Yum ! Et vous ?

Onion bhaji

  • Servings: 6 onion bhaji
  • Difficulty: facile
  • Print

Ingrédients pour les onion bhaji

  • 1 gros oignon blanc (environ 150g)
  • 2 oeufs moyens
  • 160g de farine / farine de pois chiches, ou un mélange des deux
  • sel & poivre
  • 1 càc de cumin moulu
  • 1 càc de coriandre moulue
  • 1 càc de gingembre râpé
  • 1 càc de piment en poudre
  • un petit bouquet de coriandre, emincée
  • huile de friture

Ingrédients pour la sauce

  • 3 càs de yaourt grec
  • 1 petit bouquet de menthe, émincé
  • 2 càs de jus de citron
  • sel & poivre

Méthode

  1. Emincer l’oignon en fines lamelles et bien les séparer.
  2. Dans un bol moyen, battre les oeufs avec le reste des ingrédients sauf la farine. Ajouter les oignons et bien mélanger pour bien les enrober.
  3. Ajouter la farine tamisée et mélanger à nouveau.
  4. Diviser en 6 et faire frire (en plusieurs fois si besoin) jusqu’à obtenir une couleur dorée. Faire égoutter sur du papier absorbant.
  5. Faire la sauce en mélangeant tous les ingrédients.
  6. Placer dans un plat et déguster !

Haut

Leave a Reply

